We are a thriving Independent Historic Library and Educational Charity, welcoming new members of all ages.
We are open as usual: Tuesdays to Fridays 10am-5pm and Saturdays 10am-4pm.
Contact us:
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

Robert Boyle (1627–1691)

The works of The Honourable Robert Boyle in six volumes (1772)

Robert Boyle was a prominent Irish natural philosopher, alchemist, chemist, physicist, and inventor.  He is best known for the law named after him – Boyle’s Law – which describes the inversely proportional relationship between the pressure and volume of a gas  in a fixed temperature; i.e. when the volume of a gas decreases its pressure increases. Boyle’s contributions to the field of chemistry have earned him the reputation as one of the founders of modern chemistry.

Boyle’s meticulous experiments laid the foundation for the modern scientific method of observation and controlled inquiry.  His most important works include New experiments physico-mechanical: touching the spring of the air and their effects (1660) and The sceptical chemist (1661).  Beyond his scientific achievements, Boyle co-founded the Royal Society which championed collaboration and the open exchange of scientific ideas.

This impressive six volume collection of Boyle’s writings, including his scientific papers and correspondence, was published in 1772.  It was meticulously edited by the English historian and author, Thomas Birch (1705–1766), who was a key figure in intellectual and scientific circles in the 18th century.   Birch’s work played a crucial role in preserving and disseminating Boyle’s legacy as a giant of modern science.